top of page
  • Writer's pictureChiaro

Your Physical Appearance

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

When you look at yourself in the mirror, are you happy with what you see?

This is a very important question and this articles will aim to focus on why it is important to align your mental state to your physical appearance.


There are a few articles and research which have been done online that discuss the psychological affects a man's body image has on them but first, let's talk about my experience...


The year is 2011. I'm in high-school and one of the least popular boys in school (this turned out to be quite the opposite but that's a story for another day). I weighed about 60kg, had an ironic beer belly and I was 165cm tall. By no means was I considered sexy in any way and this was something I knew. Of course, I was a boy so my mental state hadn't mature to a level where I could be comfortable in my but I was very aware of how I looked. Luckily, for me, puberty hit (very late) and my body had the chance to develop quite well over the years. I joined a gym and lifted weights to increase my muscles. After the first year of gym I, not only, noticed a change in my physical appearance but the attitude I had; I was more confident in myself. It was clear to me that the body that I wanted was the body that I would have to work for, for the rest of my life and I was okay with this. It was what I wanted for myself because I felt good when I saw myself.


Going back to the topic; one research paper which was done by psychiatrists at UCLA discusses how the people of today feel worse about their physical appearance as compared to how people viewed themselves in the 1970s. Without getting too technical, the study suggests that media played a big role in how people perceived themselves as well as how they are perceived by others. This is a critical statement to understand when going out into the world. The basic understanding that people, specifically women, will see you and compare you to a standard already set by society will greatly affect how you present yourself as well.


But regardless of what mainstream media may say or society's superficial views, the main thing is for you to be comfortable and accepting of who you are. In my case working out at the gym helped me find my inner lion, ready to become the king of the jungle. But it's not the same for everyone. Looking after your outward appearance doesn't necessarily mean hitting the gym everyday and getting jacked. It can be dressing to impress and putting together a well tailored look. And personal grooming, staying clean shaven and smelling good. But before you can even begin to work on that outward appearance you need to work on you, your mind and soul. That will take different forms for different people, with some it may be self affirmations everyday while for other it could be expanding your knowledge through reading. In any case, having a strong sense of self and self acceptance is a sturdy foundation on which to build yourself up.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page